Connect with Rotary
Subscribe to our bulletins
Subscribe to our eBulletin and stay up to date on the latest news and events.

Upcoming Events
Chartered April 28, 1982, the Rotary Club of Gainesville Sunrise was founded as a result of a study committee from the Rotary Club of Gainesville.
Chester Yates, Clark Hodge, Fred Kirchoff and Dick Tarbox were appointed by the District Governor E. T. York to explore the potential for a breakfast Rotary Club in Gainesville. The Charter was presented at the District Conference which was held in Gainesville in 1982. This became the third Rotary Club in Gainesville since the Greater Gainesville Rotary Club had been formed in 1967 and the fourth in Alachua County with the High Springs Club chartered in 1926.
The provisional Club began meeting in a large booth in the back of the main dining room of the then Holiday Inn located at Newberry Road and I-75 in December 1981. The first President was Dick Tarbox (two years), followed by Tommy Lane and Clark Hodge. Other notable charter members include former UF President Robert Marston; Larry Muschamp, the father of former Gator football coach Will Muschamp, and Wes Larson who moved to Palatka and became District Governor.
Sunrise has previously held meetings at the Heritage Club, Steve's Café, and the Wyndham Garden Gainesvilles.
Meetings are now held at the UF Hilton Conference Center, 1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL  32607.
Prepared by Dick Tarbox, March 2011

Club Documents

Charter Members

Joe Bolton
John Cochran**
Bill Cross
C. B. Daniel, Jr.**
Bruce Delaney
Phil Dunn
Don Emerson
Don Erbes
Leonard Furlow*
Clark Hodge**
Mike Holbrook
Fred Kirchoff**
Tommy Lane
Wes Larson
Bob Lentz
Robert Marston
Mickey Milam
Larry Muschamp
Ron Page
Max Petzold**
Kelley Phillips
Tim Rogers
Robbie Robertson
Tim Swain
Dick Tarbox*
George Tubb
Ed Varnedoe
Bob Wigglesworth*
Larry Williams
*Current Members
** Deceased